Meet The Team: Chloe Higgins, 2016 WI President

DSC_0158

What do you do in the committee?

I’m the newly appointed President, and I am (according to the WI rules) the face of our WI.  I think this means I just have to be nice to everyone that comes in!

Ably assisted by my lovely committee I also help plan our meetings, and generally boss everyone around a bit to try and keep us organised!

Why did you want to join a WI?

I moved to London a few years ago and wanted to make new friends.  I love a bit of crafting, and although I’m not a great baker I do love eating cake so the WI seemed like a good place to start.

I’d read an article in the Evening Standard about the new East End WIs and how they were much younger and more ‘hipster’ than the traditional image of the WI so I plucked up the courage to give it a go!

What’s your fave moment with Hackney Wick WI so far?

I’ve enjoyed everything, although I think football and yoga in the park last summer might have been particular highlights – although mainly as we were outside on lovely summer evenings rather than because I discovered any great skills with a ball or a downward dog!

What’s the least fave? 

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed it all.  I didn’t win at bingo at Christmas though we was disappointing for my super-competitive streak that seems to come out every time we play games or do quizzes…

Outside of WI, what do you get up to?

I’ve become a vaguely enthusiastic runner recently, which helps to make up for the fact I also really enjoy drinking craft ale by the canals and parks in the area!  I’m also quite obsessed with knitting, and also love to get my sewing machine out every so often (I am a WI girl after all!)

Favourite tipple?

Craft ale or gin.

Your favourite thing about being a woman?

Women’s clothes, shoes and bags are WAY better than mens.  And I do love to buy clothes, shoes and bags…

Your least favourite thing about being a woman?

Patronising men who refer to the admin team I work in (who are the indispensable core support to the company) as ‘the girls in the office’.  This is not the 1970s!  We are women doing an incredibly important job!

What would you like to see for women in Hackney Wick/the WI the future? 

New people joining us!

Favourite places in and around Hackney Wick?

  • Victoria Park and the canals for running or wandering
  • Counter Cafe for delicious brunch
  • Howling Hops for great beer brewed on site
  • The local supermarket on Felstead Street for more different kinds of quinoa than you every imagined you could need amongst tins of beans and packets of sugar.

There are a load of new things opening up across the canal in what was the Olympic Media Centre which I’m excited to try out too…

 

Leave a Reply

